Skip to content

Bret Hart on Yokozuna, Luger and Owen

May 27, 2010

WWE Hall of Famer Bret Hart

While doing research for the upcoming WWE Championship book, I was fortunate enough to interview many past champions, including Bret Hart. Most interviews lasted about one hour (with the exception of The Iron Sheik, who lasted only about 15 minutes, mainly because I had no clue what he was saying). But Bret gave me more than two hours of his time, for which I am very grateful. Because he gave me so much time, a large portion of what we spoke about never made it into the book. I still found his comments interesting, though, so I decided to post some of them here:

Bret Hart on Yokozuna:
When I wrestled him, especially at WrestleMania IX and X, he was still in his prime. He was getting a little heavier, but he was still moving pretty well. He was starting to get his confidence, too … I still think we had the best matches he ever had in that time period. I remember wrestling him in a cage match in Anaheim and I remember him coming to the back and saying it was the best cage match he ever had. I think it was the best match we had anywhere. He brought out th best in me.

Hart on Lex Luger:
He was a really good guy … much more likable guy than when strangers met him. I think the truth about Lex was he was a far better character as the “black trunks WCW Lex Luger.” He was a heel and much thicker back then. He was a bad boy heel. I think the American red, white and blue good guy gimmick was the wrong gimmick for him. He should’ve gone with the black tights. The “Narcissist” to the American dream boy was just the wrong thing for him. It didn’t fly with the people.

Hart on working with his brother, Owen:
Looking back today, I find I can slip back and remember little moments with my brother Owen in the ring all the time. As a matter of fact, I just bursted out laughing at something the other day. It was when I got Owen and Davey to come join me in the Hart Foundation. I had been fighting Owen for a couple years and suddenly I’m in the ring telling him that we shouldn’t fight and that they should join me. And I remember his facial expressions, they were so hilarious. I sold him in 30 seconds … all was forgiven and we were back together. When I talk to wrestlers today, they still say how much fun Owen was. He never made it seem like work.

Pre-order the book here

4 Comments
  1. Lovin’ Hart’s insight. It’s astounding – especially from someone who’s endured so much physically (i.e. stroke) – that he remembers such particular details from years back. If this is the type of stuff edited out of your WWE Championship book, I can’t wait to see the finished product. Thanks for sharing, Taskmaster.

    • Taskmaster … You’re funny. Sorry it took so long to get your comment up here (I know, the wait was killing you). I’m still trying to figure out this blog.

  2. Wade permalink

    Hey Kev, why Chris Jericho (best heel of WWE) is so underrated?

    • You really think he’s underrated? I think he has done very well for himself, considering he’s not the biggest guy on the roster. When he retires, he will be remembered as an all-time great, I believe.

Leave a Reply

